Skip to content

88 days/ 6 miles

January 18, 2011

Some days you’re the windscreen, somedays you’re the bug.

Today I was the windscreen. I officially ran, without stopping and at a pretty decent pace, whilst talking, 6 miles. It took 1 hour and 5 minutes. Everything just felt good and right and I knew I’d manage, although I really didn’t expect to not have to take a break nor that I could chit chat whilst doing it. At times I seemed to be less out of breath than Matt (who had a backpack loaded with text books and weights (and a small elephant, and Volkswagen beetle, and a lamp- there is always space for some overdramatisation. Even in a very crowded backpack)) There were even moments where I felt that my body was on my side and not fighting me every single step- although my feet did get very tired and there was no sprint left in me at the end, but there was also no walk or shuffle left in me either. For context, see day 90’s entry on my granny shuffle technique.

I am now in the throes of stiffening up and feel a bit of whiplash coming on, but I’ve got a swim to do tomorrow at lunch which should sort that out.

My mind is turning to sponsorship and how to raise the funds and some additional genius sponsorship ideas. I’m also thinking of throwing a pub quiz at the end of Feb, and getting some prizes donated, because if there is one thing I am good at, it’s getting stuff for free. Afterall, that was pretty much my first grown up job. Although I believe it is called promotional marketing? Just like the woman who gave birth to Nicole Kidman’s new daughter is thanked as the gestational carrier. Sounds like a disease. I guess words can help redefine experience, or distance a reality. Like Marathon. Sounds epic and elusive, but actually it’s just a run on a really good day with a load of other people. It’ll be fine… really, it will. Let’s just pray the race is on a windscreen day and not a bug day, because I have no idea why some days are the one and some days the other. Hopefully I’ll work it out in the next 88 days.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Debby permalink
    January 19, 2011 13:30

    Brilliant writing Andy, and WELL DONE!!!!! (you really are a hoot … here’s to many more ‘windscreen days’)

Leave a Reply

