Skip to content

Richmond Park v2

January 30, 2011

Today,whilst running I saw a lonely lost pink, peppa pig, mitten perched on a tree. Some chilled baby’s hand noticed too late. Passed an old man, walking briskly in the very crisp air with a porky corgi charging alongside him and then further back another smaller, equally porky corgi puffing and looking quite stressed as she waddled worriedly far behind. These were just a selection of images that converged and convinced me that today was a Difficult Day. Somedays you notice the runners and their strength, the throes of spring and the energy of life. Sometimes you notice forgotten mittens and fat abandoned corgis.

I got to the top of the hill and turned back to the car, claiming a stitch was too painful to run through- too big a cup of coffee for breakfast? If I really wanted to, I could have finished.Worse things have happened to better people in the grander scheme of things… But then I thought- Well, I really wanted to run the whole route today. I had planned that. So now that I’d walked some of it, it’s as bad as quitting, I might as well just give it up. Try again next week etc etc. (Yup, awesome mental attitude- like a child and a broken biscuit- it’s STILL a biscuit, just EAT it!) So, Matt ran on to complete the route whilst I petulantly turned on my heel and just quit. I don’t like running. It’s hard, tedious and boring. My will power is the discarded glove and my physical prowess the fat corgi…

I’d like to end on a positive note and detail the masterful and constructive steps I’m taking to make this petulant mental child grow up but honestly, I just don’t know what to do- except to just do more, try harder and all that. I guess I know all the answers- all of them. I just don’t understand. How can something so easy be so hard. It’s just blaaady running for heavens sake! I know I will master this and that I will run on the 17th of April (unless my leg falls off or something- wishful thinking…busy googling causes for random leg loss as I write this) but man! Surely there must be an easier way to challenge myself and raise money for something that matters…surely!!

Hopefully this is the bottom of the barrel, it certainly feels like my lowest.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Emma permalink
    January 31, 2011 18:14

    Andrea-I never knew you wrote sooooo well!!!!!! That’s so how feel, even after a long, tedious, monstrous day at work….like today!!!!! You are doing so well! When’s the cut off to sponsor you-am waiting for a bit of cash and will DEFINITELY sponsor you!!! Keep it up my lovey! Oodles of love xxxx

Trackbacks

  1. Hindsight « Non-runner to marathon in 100 days.
  2. 4 more Sundays, it will all be over « Non-runner to marathon in 100 days.
  3. Best run EVER/ 13 days!! « Non-runner to marathon in 100 days.

Leave a Reply

